Miller fastest on day two

Jack Miller was the fastest man in the wet today.
Jack Miller was the fastest man in the wet today.

Aussie Jack Miller was the fastest rider today during day two of the Moto3 test in Jerez.

The Moto3 class only saw twenty riders out of 33 at Jerez electing to go out today and post laps in the torrential rain down the South.

The fastest of the twenty that elected to go out was Caretta Technoloy’s FTR Honda rider Jack Miller. The young Aussie posted the  best lap of the day, a 1’57.627, in the final hour of the day. Although Miller’s lap was more than ten seconds slower than Jonas Folger’s fastest lap of yesterday.

Backing up the good work of Miller was team mate John McPhee, who ended the day 0.174 seconds slower than his team mate completing a 1-2.

Ajo’s Louis Salom ended the day in third position, but over three quarters of a second faster than other KTM riders Alex Rins (Estrella Galicia 0,0) and Arthur Sissis (Red Bull Ajo motorsports).

Behind the KTM’s was a Honda trio of Jakub Kornfeil, Brad Binder and Livio Loi who ended the day sixth to eighth respectively.

Maverick Viñales aboard his KTM put a few laps in, in an effort to try and conquer the difficulties he usually faces when ever the rain comes to play, and rounding out the top ten was Danny Webb, but a highside put him out of action for the rest of the afternoon.

Moto3 Jerez test Day 2 combined results:

1 Jack MILLER (AUS) Caretta Technology-RTG FTR HONDA 1:57.627
2 John McPHEE (GBR) Caretta Technology-RTG FTR HONDA 1:57.801 +0.174
3 Luis SALOM (SPA) Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 1:57.963 +0.336
4 Alex RINS (SPA) Estrella Galicia 0′0 KTM 1:58.765 +1.138
5 Arthur SISSIS (AUS) Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 1:58.796 +1.169
6 Jakub KORNFEIL (CZE) Redox RW Racing GP KALEX KTM 1:58.968 +1.341
7 Brad BINDER (RSA) Ambrogio Racing SUTER HONDA 1:59.144 +1.517
8 Livio LOI (BEL) Marc VDS Racing Team KALEX KTM 1:59.395 +1.768
9 Maverick VIÑALES (SPA) Team Calvo KTM 1:59.419 +1.792
10 Danny WEBB (GBR) Ambrogio Racing SUTER HONDA 1:59.588 +1.961
11 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN (MAL) Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 1:59.615 +1.988
12 Jasper IWEMA (NED) RW Racing GP KALEX KTM 1:59.620 +1.993
13 Matteo FERRARI (ITA) Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR HONDA 1:59.908 +2.281
14 Isaac VIÑALES (SPA) Bimbo-Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR HONDA 2:00.089 +2.462
15 Alexis MASBOU (FRA) Ongetta-Rivacold FTR HONDA 2:00.130 +2.503
16 Philipp OETTL (GER) Paddock TT Motion Events KALEX KTM 2:00.172 +2.545
17 Juanfran GUEVARA (SPA) CIP Moto3 TSR HONDA 2:00.818 +3.191
18 Ana CARRASCO (SPA) Team Calvo KTM 2:01.004 +3.377
19 Alan TECHER (FRA) CIP Moto3 TSR HONDA 2:01.988 +4.361
20 Niklas AJO (FIN) Avant Tecno KTM 2:02.043 +4.416

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *